Writing Friends

I was fortunate to meet Cheryl Tan in Scotland last March, at Hawthornden Castle. I recently listened to the audio of her drop-dead funny novel, SARONG PARTY GIRLS. It’s written in a dialect called “Singlish” and the narrator nails it. I loved this story. From Amazon: “A brilliant and utterly engaging novel—Emma set in modern Asia—about a young woman’s rise in the glitzy, moneyed city of Singapore, where old traditions clash with heady modern materialism.

On the edge of twenty-seven, Jazzy hatches a plan for her and her best girlfriends: Sher, Imo, and Fann. Before the year is out, these Sarong Party Girls will all have spectacular weddings to rich ang moh—Western expat—husbands, with Chanel babies (the cutest status symbols of all) quickly to follow. Razor-sharp, spunky, and vulgarly brand-obsessed, Jazzy is a determined woman who doesn’t lose.”

My friend Gale Massey has her first novel out. This gritty crime mystery will keep you turning pages while you know you should be doing something that needs doing, like folding laundry or boarding a plane. I was fascinated by the inside info on gambling at cards. You can read about Gale here:

galemassey2
wilberforce

H.S Cross is the author of Wilberforce, published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux. The Huffington Post said of it: “For fans of Evelyn Waugh or Kingsley Amis, a wry take on priggish, midcentury boarding schools. It’s a dark take on the coming-of-age stories that’ve populated the book world as of late.” say that it is utterly astonishing that a contemporary American woman could so effectively portray an English schoolboy in the 1920s.

I was fortunate to spend a month with Heather during our shared Hawthornden Fellowships. Her second novel, entitled GRIEVOUS, which will also be published by FSG in April 2019.

H. S. Cross returns to “a school as nuanced and secretive as J. K. Rowling’s Hogwarts” (The Rumpus) in Grievous, the sequel to her coming-of-age novel Wilberforce.
tacky goblin

T. Sean Steele is a brilliantly funny young writer of blog posts and the novel  Tacky Goblin. Originally released in 2016, it was re-released in July 2018. Travis was working on a second novel at Hawthornden.

B99BD066-CBE8-4A3B-96A2-84FB32F086B5

My friend  and neighbor, Tony Vanderwarker, has published several funny books: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7178145.Tony_Vanderwarker

a-million-fragile-bones

Connie May Fowler has been a wonderful teacher. The author of best-selling novels, she now has an emotional, gut-baring eco-memoir with a message about the stewardship of our planet. Available on Amazon: http://www.conniemayfowler.com/  

7506C03C-0FA1-446E-80C2-479B25916F01

Jessie Sings is by a writing buddy of mine, Victor Hess, and is available on Amazon. Victor writes with an instinctive insight and poignancy that never drips into melodrama. Jessie is a survivor! 

mary-morony-book-cover

My friend Mary Morony has written three novels in what she calls “The Apron Strings Trilogy.” You can learn about it here:  //www.marymorony.com/